About Pretoria


The host city of ICEGOV 2024 is Pretoria, the administrative capital of South Africa. Pretoria, located in Gauteng’s Province, is an attractive small city with a sunny temperate climate, leafy suburbs, numerous green open spaces, historical buildings, museums, galleries, theatres, entertainment venues, and the strikingly beautiful Union Buildings designed by Sir Herbert Baker. Founded in 1855 by Marthinus, son of Andries Pretorius, the Boer statesman for whom the city was named, it became the capital of the Transvaal in 1860, administrative capital of South Africa in 1910, and a city in 1931. The city of Pretoria occupies 687.54 kilometers squared (265.46 square miles) and its estimated population is now at 2,818,100.

▢ Useful links

Tshwane Neighbourhoods – Visit Pretoria