ICEGOV about header 1

ICEGOV stands for International Conference on Theory and Practice of Electronic Governance. Established in 2007, the conference runs annually and is coordinated by the United Nations University Operating Unit on Policy-Driven Electronic Governance (UNU-EGOV). Part of the United Nations University and headquartered in the city of Guimarães, north of Portugal, UNU-EGOV is a think tank dedicated to Electronic Governance; a core centre of research, advisory services and training; a bridge between research and public policies; an innovation enhancer; a solid partner within the UN system and its Member States with a particular focus on sustainable development, social inclusion and active citizenship.


A Global and Multi-Stakeholder Conference

ICEGOV about header 3

ICEGOV promotes the sharing of knowledge through the publication and presentation of academic papers, both from developing and developed countries. This is complemented with a rich programme of keynote lectures, plenary sessions, invited sessions, and networking sessions, all organized by leading institutions and people in the EGOV domain. The number of papers submitted to ICEGOV already reached 2400 and the conference was attended, over its 13 editions, by more than 6000 participants originating from 109 countries around the world, making ICEGOV a truly global and International Conference dedicated to the Theory and Practice of Electronic Governance.

ICEGOV has established itself over the years as a major conference in the domain of Electronic Governance (EGOV) due to its unique combination of academics and practitioners. The conference promotes the interaction and cooperation between universities, research centres, governments, industry, and international organisations, all of which are essential to the development of EGOV and its community.


Our Goals

ICEGOV about header 4

ICEGOV creates a unique link between the worlds of research and policy, often kept apart. As both are essential for the proper development and application of EGOV, it is a goal of the conference to bridge these two worlds. ICEGOV has also established itself as a conference attended by all stakeholders of technology-enabled transformation in government. As a research and practice conference, ICEGOV features a healthy balance of researchers and practitioners, therefore reaching all spheres of the EGOV community. It focuses as well on international cooperation. With the United Nations University as a major force behind all editions of the conference, and with several United Nations organizations actively involved, ICEGOV exhibits a strong UN character and substantially contributes to the fulfilment of the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals around the world.



ICEGOV has produced, over the years, several publications as a direct result of paper submissions to the conference. The conference publications are indexed by Scopus, Web of Science, and DBLP – Computer Science Bibliography, among others. The conference acceptance rate is 36% (only full and short papers are considered).

A total of 13 conference proceedings volumes have been published by ACM Press, comprising 1088 papers written by more than 1500 authors (74% from developing countries and 26% from developed countries). A Special Collection of e-Government Innovations in India was published in 2017 (ACM Press) and special issues of Government Information Quarterly (Elsevier) with selected best papers are published each year.


Past Editions

The conference took place for the first time in 2007, in Macau. It was the beginning of a journey that has led ICEGOV and its participants to 12 different cities spread over 11 countries and 5 continents. In all its past editions, ICEGOV addressed pertinent subjects for academics, practitioners, and decision-makers in the EGOV domain. During the year 2020, despite the COVID-19 pandemic that hit the world, the conference still took place in a fully-online format, in real time.