< back

Workshop 5

Tuesday, 31 March 2020 | 14:00 - 17:00 | Room TBA


On a Scientific Base for Digital Governance and Transformation

Digital Governance refers to the phenomenon where administrations, enterprises, and citizens utilize information and communication technologies (ICT) to a great extent, aiming at advanced levels of service provision quality, openness and transparency, collaboration and evidence-based decision making for enhancing the quality of in a sustainable way. Through an overview of the domain, we can identify thousands of scientific papers, many conferences, and hundreds of tracks that implement set of concepts, theories, methodologies, architectures, principles and more, derived from established and emerging sciences, with a view to long-term problem-solving, as opposed to short-term solution provisioning. This knowledge indicates the maturity of Digital Governance and that now is the proper time for the establishment of the scientific foundations of the field.

A science base can be built only in small incremental steps with each successive primary research study building on the previous one with the help of the domain experts. Based on a systematic research on other scientific domains (Software Engineering, Medicine and Interoperability) we can identify 10 components of the fields science base: Rationale, Domain Structure, Research Roadmap, Neighboring Domains, Training Curricula, Problem Space, Assessment Methods and Tools, Solution Paths, Solution Methods and Tools, and Laws/Rules.

This workshop aims at contributing towards the ingredients of the scientific foundations of digital governance and transformation and thus to the establishment of the domain as a science. Information which will be discussed in this workshop is valuable to the Researchers and Practitioners in the Digital Governance Domain, ICT industry and Policy makers, to understand better the foundational knowledge


The main objectives of the workshop in order to contribute towards the establishment of the Digital Governance and Transformation Science Base (which is the main scope of the workshop) are:

  • To bring forward the ingredients of this new domain.
  • To identify and explore the structure of the domain and its relation with neighboring scientific domains.
  • To discuss and validate a possible Master level curriculum focusing on the use of disruptive technologies in Digital Government.


In order to address the objectives, the workshop will be divided into three distinct activities:

  1. Introductory presentation of the components and group brainstorming session on the domain structure and neighboring domains components.
  2. Discussion of the neighboring domains component.
  3. Discussion of a Master level study curriculum on disruptive technologies in digital government.

The first and the second sessions will contain a presentation and an analysis of the Digital Governance and Transformation Science Base components. An interactive discussion among the participants of the Workshop will follow and they will be asked to identify any missing component. Emphasizing on the two mentioned above components (see objectives 1st bullet), a brainstorming will follow that will focus on: (a) the content of the domain structure (during the first session of the workshop); and (b) the content of the neighboring domains (second session of the workshop).

In the third session, the Master curriculum focusing on the role of disruptive technologies in the digital government services will be presented. The aim of the program is to prepare the future public officials and entrepreneurs to the inevitable technological changes associated with increasing use of disruptive technologies in public sector. Participants of the workshop will be encouraged to discuss the contents of the study program, suggest possible additions or changes.

Each topic will be assigned a maximum of an hour with a half of an hour presentation and the remaining time to discussions or any other interaction among the participants.


Chair - Workshop 5
Zoi Lachana
University of the Aegean
Speaker - Workshop 5
Alexander Ronzhyn
University of Koblenz-Landau
Chair - Track 9; Speaker - Workshop 3 and 5
Gabriela Viale Pereira
Danube University Krems
Chair - Track 10; Speaker - Workshop 5
Maria A. Wimmer
University of Koblenz-Landau
Programme Committee Chair
Yannis Charalabidis
University of the Aegean